Discord

What Happens When You Disable Your Discord Account

Discord is a great online forum where millions of people connect and get facilitated by its advanced features such as voice chatting, voice, video calling, text messaging, live streaming, and playing games. Discord users can interact with people who have similar interests and make friends. However, sometimes people get exhausted from using it all day long like other social media platforms. In such a scenario, it is better to disable your Discord account temporarily and take a break.

This tutorial will discuss about the consequences of disabling your Discord account and its related procedure.
Let’s have a look!

What Happens When You Disable Your Discord Account?

After disabling the Discord account, your username will be kicked out from all joined servers, and the associated data will be deleted temporarily. Discord will also restrict access to your account. However, you can reactivate your account, and the deleted data will be restored at any time.

Want to disable your Discord account? If yes, then check out the below-given section.

How to Disable your Discord Desktop Account?

Follow up on the below-given procedure to disable your Discord desktop account.

Step 1: Open Discord

With the help of the Startup menu, open the “Discord” application:

Step 2: Change User Settings

Go to the “User Settings” by clicking on the “gear” icon beside your username:

Step 3: Select My Account Category

Click on the “My Account” category from the left sidebar under the “USER SETTINGS” menu:

Step 4: Disable Discord Account

Scroll down through the “My Account” settings, look for the “Disable Account” button inside the “ACCOUNT REMOVAL” option, and click on it:


The “Disable Account” prompt window will now appear on your screen. Enter the password in the required field and click on the “Disable Account” button:


As a result, your Discord account will be disabled temporarily. If you want to use it again, click on the “Restore Account” option or “Return To Login” button:


Let’s check out the method of temporarily disabling the Discord account on the mobile application.

How to Disable Your Discord Mobile Account?

Discord enables mobile users to temporarily disable their Discord accounts. Follow the below steps to try it on your device.

Step 1: Open Discord

Tap on the “Discord” icon to open it:

Step 2: Change User Settings

To open “User Settings”, tap on the profile icon on the bottom-right side of the Discord home screen:

Step 3: Open My Account Category

Now, look for the “My Account” category and tap on it:

Step 4: Disable Discord Account

Scroll down through “My Account” settings, search for the “Disable Account” button, and tap on it:


Enter your Discord account “Password” in the given field and tap on the “Disable” button:


After that, your account will be disabled temporarily. If you want to restore it, then tap on the “Restore Account” button:


We have elaborated the easiest way of disabling your Discord account on desktop and mobile applications.

Conclusion

Your user name will be removed from all servers when your Discord account is disabled, and all of your data will be deleted temporarily. To disable your discord account, go to “User Settings” and select the “My Account” category, scroll down through the “My Account” settings window, and hit the “Disable Account” button. This tutorial discussed what happens when your Discord account is disabled and also demonstrated the related procedure on Discord desktop and mobile applications.

About the author

Maria Naz

I hold a master's degree in computer science. I am passionate about my work, exploring new technologies, learning programming languages, and I love to share my knowledge with the world.