Discord

How to delete discord account

As a Discord user, if you want to take a break, then you can delete or disable your account without any hassle. This application provides both of these options for its users, similar to other social platforms such as Instagram, Facebook, and many more. If a user deletes the Discord account, it typically means they will no longer use it, and their stored data will be erased permanently.

This post will briefly discuss the procedure to delete the Discord account from its desktop and mobile applications. So, let’s begin!

How to delete Discord account from Desktop

To delete the Discord account from the desktop application, follow the instructions given below.

First, search for the “Discord” application on your desktop system using the “Startup” menu and launch it from there:

Now, at the bottom-left side, besides your user name, click on the “User Settings” gear icon:

Inside the “USER SETTINGS” window, select the “My Account” category from the left-sidebar:

Scroll down the “My Account” settings and look for the “Delete Account” button. Click on it to delete your Discord account:

Before deleting your Discord account, you need to know that you have to transfer the ownership of all of your created servers. So, clicking on the “Delete Account” button will open up the following message box:

In our case, we only own one Discord server named “Mari0422’s server”. So, we will transfer its ownership to one of its members. To do the same, click on the below-given highlighted icon:

Next, select the “Server Settings” option:

Then, click on the “Members” option from the left-side menu, under the “USER MANAGEMENT” category:

Now choose the member you want to transfer the ownership from your server member list and click on three dots. For instance, we have selected “SharqaHameed”, one of our “Mari0422’s server” members, to assign the new “Owner” role:

Click on the “Transfer Ownership” option from the opened drop-down menu:

First, enable the given toggle and then click on the “Transfer Ownership” button:

Upon doing so, a “Delete Account” prompt window will open up on your screen. Specify your Discord account’s “Password” and click on the “Delete Account” button:

As a result of it, your Discord account will be permanently deleted, and you will be logged out of your account:

Now, let’s look at the method of deleting the Discord account from the mobile application.

How to delete Discord account from mobile

To delete the Discord account from your mobile device, firstly open the “Discord” application:

Click on your Profile icon that is present on the bottom-right side of the window:

After doing so, the “User Settings” manual will open where you have to search for the “My Account” category and open it:

Under “My Account”, you will see the following “Delete Account” option:

Discord will show the below dialog box on your phone screen, in which it will ask you to transfer ownership if you own a server. Click on the “Okay” button to proceed further:

Now, return to the main screen, and tap on the upper-right-side three-dots menu:

Then, click on the “Settings” (gear icon):

Scroll the screen, tap on the “Members” option inside the “USER MANAGEMENT” category:

Members list will be shown on your screen; choose the member to whom you want to transfer ownership and click on its related three-dots menu:

After selecting the member, click on the “Transfer Ownership” option:

Mark the given checkbox and click on the “Transfer” button:

The ownership transfer process is now completed, and you can delete the account by entering your Discord account’s “Password” and clicking on the “Delete Account” button:

Your discord account is permanently deleted from your mobile device, and you will be logged out of it:

We have compiled the easiest method of deleting Discord accounts from desktop and mobile applications.

Conclusion

To delete Discord accounts on desktop and mobile devices, firstly, you have to open the “User Settings” and select the “My Account” from the available categories. After doing so, scroll down the screen and tap on the “Delete Account” button. Within a few seconds, your Discord account will be permanently deleted from the selected device. This post demonstrated the process of deleting Discord accounts from desktop and mobile.

About the author

Sharqa Hameed

I am a Linux enthusiast, I love to read Every Linux blog on the internet. I hold masters degree in computer science and am passionate about learning and teaching.